Ballot Begins To Take Shape For March Primary Election


Two have filed for county-wide office, six for county board, and 14 for precinct committee rep after the first two days of the filing period for 2020 elections, according to Montgomery County Clerk Sandy Leitheiser.

The filing period began on Monday, Nov. 25, and continues through 5 p.m. Monday, Dec. 2, except for Thursday and Friday, Nov. 28-29, when county offices are closed for the Thanksgiving holiday.

Those who have filed so far for nomination in the March 17 primary are Bryant Hitchings (D) of Hillsboro for state's attorney, and Holly Lemons (R) of Hillsboro for circuit clerk.  Those who have filed for nomination as a county board candidate are Connie Beck (R) of Litchfield in District 1, Gene Miles (R) of Nokomis in District 2, Richard Wendel (D) of Litchfield in District 5, Russell Beason  (R) of Litchfield in District 5, Beverly McCoy (R) of Hillsboro in District 6, and Timothy Fogle (D) of Litchfield in District 7.

Those who have filed as of Tuesday seeking election as precinct committee rep are Jim Allen (R) in Bois D'Arc, Bradford Ozee (R) in East Fork 3, James Evans (D) in Fillmore, Terry Richmond (R) in Hillsboro 1, Dick James (R) in Hillsboro 3, Beverly McCoy (R) in Hillsboro 4, Connie Beck (R) in North Litchfield 1, Tim Fogle (D) in North Litchfield 3, Curt Faas (R) in North Litchfield 3, Ted Elizondo (D) in North Litchfield 5, Chuck Napier (D) in North Litchfield 6, Marcia Sailsbury (R) in South Litchfield 2, Richard Wendel (D) in South Litchfield 4, and Donna Yeske (R) in Witt 1.

For further information about the March 17 primary or the Nov. 3 general election, contact Leitheiser at, call 217-532-9530, visit, or stop by the office at the Historic Courthouse in Hillsboro.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment