Clavin, Lyons Land On All-PSC Squad


Two Nokomis High School baseball players were among 17 honorees on this year's Prairie State Conference All-Conference team.

Senior Benny Clavin was one of 12 first team selections, while Brenton Lyons was an honorable mention in his freshman year for Nokomis, who went 4-4 against Prairie State Conference competition this year.

Clavin led the team in batting average and hits, going 22-for-52 with a .423 average and a .524 on base percentage. The senior shortstop and pitcher also led the team in runs scored (21) and assists (14) in the field.

Clavin was just as good on the mound as he tied Austin Thornton for the team lead in wins with two and led the Redskins with a miniscule ERA of 1.771. In 27.2 innings pitched, Clavin allowed just seven earned runs, striking out 28 (also a team-high) while walking nine for a team-best 1.229 WHIP (walks and hits per inning pitched).

Lyons made his debut season a memorable one behind the plate for Nokomis, with 87 innings played at the catcher's position. In 100 chances, the freshman backstop made just three errors for a .970 fielding percentage. Lyons also caught five runners stealing and picked off one base runner.

At the plate, Lyons batted .362 with 17 hits, second most on the team. He was among the team leaders in extra-base hits with four doubles and a triple and drove in 11 runs and scored 12, both of which were in the top five for Nokomis.

Both Lyons and Clavin also showed some patience at the plate as Clavin struck out just 10 times in 63 at-bats, while Lyons struck out nine in 54 at-bats. Only Matthew Ulrici would approach those numbers, with nine strikeouts in 63 at-bats.

In addition to the Nokomis contingent, 15 others received honors, with conference champion and Class 1A state runner-up Father McGivney earning the lion's share with six honorees. Seniors Matthew Gierer and Drew Sowerwine would be joined by sophomores Gabe Smith, Jackson Rodgers and Daniel Gierer on the first team, while senior Austin Callovini was an honorable mention for the Griffins.

East Alton-Wood River had three honorees, first team senior Kenny Beachum and honorable mention senior Gary Shemonia and sophomore Seth Slayden.

The other four teams had two picks each, with Mt. Olive seniors Carter Monke and Austin Knowles, Bunker Hill senior Devin Ralston and junior Garrett Oxford and Metro-East Lutheran seniors Erik Brockemeier and Luke Neath making up the rest of the squad.

Prairie State Conference

2020-21 All-Conference Baseball

First Team: Benny Clavin, Sr. - Nokomis; Devin Ralston, Sr. - Bunker Hill; Kenny Beachum, Sr. - East Alton-Wood River; Gabe Smith, So. - Father McGivney; Matthew Gierer, Sr. - Father McGivney; Jackson Rodgers, So. - Father McGivney; Drew Sowerwine, Sr. - Father McGivney; Daniel Gierer, So. - Father McGivney; Erik Brockemeier, Sr. - Metro-East Lutheran; Luke Neath, Sr. - Metro-East Lutheran; Carter Monke, Sr. - Mt. Olive; Austin Knowles, Sr. - Mt. Olive.

Honorable Mention: Brenton Lyons, Fr. - Nokomis; Garrett Oxford, Jr. - Bunker Hill; Gary Shemonia, Sr. - East Alton-Wood River; Seth Slayden, So. - East Alton-Wood River; Austin Callovini, Sr. - Father McGivney.

Standings: 1. Father McGivney 8-1; 2. Metro-East Lutheran 5-2; 3. Mt. Olive 4-3; 4. Nokomis 4-4; 5. East Alton-Wood River 1-8; 6. Bunker Hill 0-5.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here