Hiltopper Trio Earn All-Conference Honors


Three members of the Hillsboro High School volleyball team were among the 18 named to this year’s South Central Conference all-conference teams for the 2019 season.

Kaci Papin, Kayli Ward and Chloe Beck joined players from Staunton, Carlinville, Pana, Roxana, Vandalia and Greenville on this year’s team after the Toppers went 7-2 this season in the SCC to finish third overall.

Pana and Staunton, who finished 1-2 in the conference with records of 9-0 and 8-1, would have four representatives each, while Carlinville and Roxana had two honorees apiece as well. The Cavaliers finished fourth with a 6-3 mark, while Roxana was fifth with a 5-4 conference record.

Vandalia, who tied for sixth in the conference with Southwestern with a 3-6 mark, also had two representatives, while Greenville, tied with Gillespie for eighth at 2-7, had one. Litchfield (0-9), Gillespie and Southwestern did not have a representative on this year’s team.

Papin earned first team honors after being a second team selection last year as a freshman. Staunton and Pana would have two players each on the first team, with senior Hollie Bekeske and freshman Haris Legendre representing the Bulldogs and sophomore Jillian Hamilton and junior Alivia Reed representing the Panthers. Carlinville senior Sarah DeNeve rounded out the first team.

Ward earned second team honors this season after being a third team pick in junior year.

Staunton juniors Gabbie Reising and Taryn Russell joined Ward on the second team, along with junior Natalie Iberg of Greenville, junior Macie Lucas of Roxana and sophomore Jill Stayton of Carlinville.

Beck earned third team honors to cap off a successful senior year. Vandalia seniors Megan Kern and Lanee McNary joined Beck, along with Pana juniors Brayer Denton and Carsen Sims and Roxana junior Reagan Stahlhut.

All told, the three teams would consist of six seniors, eight juniors, three sophomores and one freshman. Only four players on this year’s team were repeat selections after last year’s squad featured 13 seniors. Papin and Ward were two of the repeat selections, with Carlinville’s Sarah Deneve (second team in 2018) and Roxana’s Macie Lucas (third team in 2018) the other two-time honorees.

With 12 all-conference underclassmen returning next season and six teams with 20 wins or more, the conference’s recent success in volleyball shows no sign of stopping.

2019 South Central Conference Volleyball Season Summary



Pana 9 0 27 11

Staunton 8 1 31 5

Hillsboro 7 2 22 12

Carlinville 6 3 28 9

Roxana 5 4 21 13

Southwestern 3 6 11 16

Vandalia 3 6 21 11

Gillespie 2 7 8 19

Greenville 2 7 12 18

Litchfield 0 9 8 21

SCC All-Conference

First Team: Hollie Bekeske, Sr. - Staunton; Sarah DeNeve, Sr. - Carlinville; Jillian Hamilton, So. - Pana; Haris Legendre, Fr. - Staunton; Kaci Papin, So. - Hillsboro; Alivia Reed, Jr. - Pana.

Second Team: Natalie Iberg, Jr. - Greenville; Macie Lucas, Jr. - Roxana; Gabbie Reising, Jr. - Staunton; Taryn Russell, Jr. - Staunton; Jill Stayton, So. - Carlinville; Kayli Ward, Sr. - Hillsboro.

Third Team: Chloe Beck, Sr. - Hillsboro; Brayer Denton, Jr. - Pana; Megan Kern, Sr. - Vandalia; Lanee McNary, Sr. - Vandalia; Carsen Sims, Jr. - Pana; Reagan Stahlhut, Jr. - Roxana.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment