Hiltopper Trio Wins At Mt. Olive


It was a productive weekend for the Hillsboro High School wrestling team as they participated in the Ron Ryan Invitational in Mt. Olive on Jan. 10-11.

Despite illness taking its toll on the line-up, the Toppers would take the title in three weight classes at Mt. Olive, with seven other wrestlers medaling at the event.

The championships would come at 106, 132 and 160 pounds from Keegan Murray, Tanner Clayton and Jonah Harkins respectively. Murray would have the easiest path to the title, beating Blake Dickerson in his first and only match, by fall, in 33 seconds.

Clayton would go 3-0 at Mt. Olive to earn the title at 132 pounds. After beating Mitchell Fleming of Red Bud by fall in 26 seconds, Clayton scored a major decision victory over teammate Curtis Segrest, who wrestled as part of the Hillsboro JV squad. Clayton would then pin Tyler Jones of Mt. Olive at the 3:04 mark to place first. Segrest, who had beaten Xavier Wilson of Sparta in his first match, pinned Ethan Williams of Carlyle in the third place match to give the Toppers two wrestlers on the podium.

Like Clayton, Harkins also went 3-0 at 160 pounds. The Topper senior needed just three minutes and 41 seconds to collect three pins and the championship as he defeated Lucas Owens of Sparta in 45 seconds, Marton Davis of Gateway Science in 60 seconds and Evan Morris of Mt. Olive at the 1:56 mark of the first period.

Zinnen Kenney would take second at 182 pounds, beating Matt Shapiro of Chaminade before falling to Isaac Evans of Sparta in the championship, by fall at the 2:37 mark.

In addition to the champions and Segrest’s third place finish, Jackson Hamby would also win his last match at Mt. Olive. Hamby would pin Austin Dall of Carlyle in one minute in his fifth place match at 170 pounds, one spot behind teammate Jaben Compton, who was fourth after going 1-2, with his win also coming against Dall.

Zain Kenney and KennyRay Moses would also place fourth at 285 and 120 pounds respectively, while Reese Morford was fifth. Matt Page (138) and Trey Snyder (145) also wrestled for the Toppers at Mt. Olive.

The success at Mt. Olive underscores the progress the team has made throughout the season, progress that the Toppers built on Thursday night with a 63-16 loss to Jerseyville.

“The score may not show it but we are continuing to get better,” Coach Garrett Young said after the Jerseyville match. “It was an exciting night for wrestling even though it didn’t end in our favor.”

In that match, Hillsboro picked up three wins and only forfeited one weight class to the Panthers. Keegan Murray pinned Logan Czaia at 106 pounds in 1:17, while Matt Page also picked up a win by fall, pinning Logan Kahl at the 3:26 mark in the 138 pound match. Magnus Wells took the other victory, beating Hunter Burris at 220 pounds in a 13-4 major decision.

Outside of the varsity matches, Brendan Milanos and Reese Morford also earned JV wins, both of which came by fall.

Hillsboro will start off the week on the road as they face Shelbyville and Robinson on the Rams’ home mats on Monday, Jan. 13. On Friday, Jan. 17, the Toppers have their first home match of the season as they welcome Carlinville and Pittsfield to town.

Ron Ryan Invitational

January 10-11 at Mt. Olive

Team Results: 1. Sparta 132; 2. Mt. Olive 126; 3. Chaminade 119; 4. Carlinville 108; 5. Hillsboro 106; 6. Pinckneyville 88; 7. Red Bud 71; 8. Metro-East Lutheran 63; 9. Carlyle 59; 10. St. Thomas More 34; 11. Gateway Science 21.

Hillsboro Results

106: Keegan Murray - def. Blake Dickerson (Mt. Olive) by fall at 0:33 to place first

120: KennyRay Moses - lost to Riley Maxey (Pinckneyville) by fall at 0:58; lost to Colin Leonard (Carlinville) by fall to place fourth

132: Tanner Clayton - def. Mitchell Fleming (Red Bud) by fall at 0:26; def. Curtis Segrest (Hillsboro JV) by maj. dec. 14-5; def. Tyler Jones (Mt. Olive) by fall at 3:04 to place first

132: Curtis Segrest - def. Xavier Wilson (Sparta) by fall at 1:43; lost to Tanner Clayton (Hillsboro) by maj. dec. 14-5; def. Ethan Williams (Carlyle) by fall at 4:25 to place third

138: Matt Page - lost to Travis Clayton (Carlyle) by fall at 3:13; lost to Chase Ward (Red Bud) by fall at :30

145: Trey Snyder - lost to Jakob Schroeder (Metro-East Lutheran) by fall at :43; lost to Mason Patton (Carlinville) by fall at 2:38

152: Cole Spensberger - lost to Garrett Dickerson (Mt. Olive) by fall at 1:35; lost to Mitter Hanson (Chaminade) by fall at 3:02

160: Jonah Harkins - def. Lucas Owens (Sparta) by fall at :45; def. Marton Davis (Gateway Science) by fall at 1:00; def. Evan Morris (Mt. Olive) by fall at 1:56 to place first

170: Jackson Hamby - lost to Braden Leuchtfeld (Chaminade) by fall at 1:41; def. Austin Dall (Carlyle) by fall at 1:00 to place fifth

170: Jaben Compton - def. Austin Dall (Carlyle) by fall at 3:17; lost to Chase Michaelis (Carlinville) by fall at 1:00; lost to Branden Leuchtfeld (Chaminade) by fall at 1:34 to place fourth

182: Zinnen Kenney - def. Matt Shapiro (Chaminade) by dec. 3-0; lost to Isaac Evans (Sparta) by fall at 2:37 to place second

182: Reese Morford - lost to Evan Bethard by fall at 1:46 to place fifth

285: Zain Kenney - lost to Kael Souter (Mt. Olive) by fall at 2:46; lost to Eli Cooper (Sparta) by fall at :41 to place fourth

January 9 at Jerseyville

Jerseyville 63, Hillsboro 16

106: Keegan Murray (H) def. Logan Czaia (J) by fall 1:17

113: Masen Turner (J) def. Shelby Ozier (H) by fall 2:55

120: Kendall Angel (J) def. KennyRay Moses (H) by fall 0:26

126: Hillsboro Forfeit

132: Ryan Heitzig (J) def. Curtis Segrest (H) by dec. 20-13

138: Matt Page (H) def. Logan Kahl (J) by fall 3:26

145: Trevor Cox (J) def. Trey Snyder (H) by fall 1:13

152: Marcus Freeman (J) def. Cole Spensberger (H) by fall 1:16

160: Zeke Waltz (J) def. Jonah Harkins (H) by fall 1:15

170: Conor Pegram (J) def. Jackson Hamby (H) by fall 2:50

182: Jacob Stocks (J) def. Zinnen Kenney (H) by fall 2:31

195: Isaac Hererra (J) def. Carsen Madelino (H) by fall 1:45

220: Magnus Wells (H) def. Hunter Burris (J) by Maj Dec. 13-4

285: Wyatt Daniels (J) def. Zain Kenney (H) by fall 1:03

JV: Liam McGuire (J) def. Brendan Milanos (H) by fall 5:00

JV: Brendan Milanos (H) def. Ethan Porter (J) by fall 1:26

JV: Cal Gorman (J) def. Jaben Compton (H) by fall 3:02

JV: Reese Morford (H) def. Colin Jones (J) by fall 2:46


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment