Langheim Named Firefighter Of The Year


Steve Langheim received the Firefighter of the Year award for the fourth time on Saturday night, Feb. 1, at the Shoal Creek Fire Protection District's annual banquet. The event was held at the Sorento Firehouse.

Langheim was recognized for his attendance at fires, training and all that he does for the district. He received a plaque and a Thin Red Line watch. This is the 32nd year for the Firefighter of the Year award.

Receiving special recognition as Rookie of the Year was Daniel Revell for the work he has done during the past year, his attendance at fires and training. He also received a plaque.

Trustee Donald Sturgeon served as master of ceremonies for the evening and recognized the following members with a certificate and thermal drinking cup. The members were retired firefighter Mike Wilkenson, firefighters, Rich Applegate, David Caulk, Sr. , first assistant chief; Bubba Caulk, Callie Caulk, Steve Hasenmyer, Jesse Jarman, Justine Joiner, Brett Kunkel, president of trustees; Steve Langheim, Kent Priddle, fire chief; Dave Randle, Shania Re, Daniel Revell, Mason Schweppe, Donald Sturgeon, trustee; Tyler Tarran, Mark Trapp, Kelley Voyles, second assistant chief; Jeff Warner, Caleb Daniken, Sabrina Daniken, Daniel Fenton, trustee; Kim Houchlei, trustee and secretary; and Gerald Knight, trustee. 

Dorine Price was recognized for serving as treasurer for the district. Also honored were junior firefighters, Leah Allen, Tyler Storm and Joseph Notter.

Trustee Kim Houchlei gave a summary of the calls received by the district. There were a total of 62 calls in 2019, including 15 fire calls, 38 rescue calls, three hazardous condition calls, two good intent calls, one severe weather or natural disaster call, one special incident call and two false calls.

Houchlei, Sturgeon and Kunkel each thanked the firefighters and their families. President Kunkel closed the program by saying, "We have a great group of people, and we're lucky to have you." 

The meal was catered by Fema's and Amanda Voyles and Rachel Sturgeon decorated for the event. A special decorated cake was made by Linda Priddle.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment