Litchfield Sports Boosters Host Senior Athlete Banquet


It was a night to celebrate not only the accomplishments of the last ten months, but also the growth of dozens of young men and women at Litchfield High School over the last four years.

The Litchfield Sports Boosters held their annual senior athlete banquet on Monday, May 7, to celebrate these accomplishments, honoring its athletes for their success and hard work on the field.

"We would like to thank the athletes and parents for their dedication," Cara Hancock of the Litchfield Sports Boosters said to open the program. "Remember the life lessons you have learned and give 110 percent in all that you do."

Litchfield Athletic Director Patrick Reents would thank all of those involved in making athletic events at LHS possible, including the coaches, custodians, ticket takers and Sue Billiter, who was key in setting up the banquet.

Following an invocation from girls track coach Shane Cress, the athletes and their families enjoyed a meal catered by Maverick Steaks & Spirits.

The three dozen Litchfield High School senior athletes nearly went from A-to-Z, settling for Bergdorf (Hannah) to White (Jared) instead as Reents introduced the athletes and acknowledged their successes on the athletic fields.

After the athlete introductions, four Litchfield High School athletes were recognized as Tri-L award winners after participating in three varsity sports during their junior and senior years. This year's Tri-L award winners were Sean Dearinger (cross country, wrestling, track), Chase Lauderdale (football, basketball, baseball), Bailey Powell (cross country, wrestling, track) and Blake Uehling (golf, wrestling, baseball).

Seven different scholarship awards, with two recipients each, were handed out during the banquet, beginning with the Elks Harry Dressen Trust Scholarship, which is voted on by the coaches. Brittnay Komor and Trevor Geggie would be the recipients for this year's award.

Mark Stieren would award the Stieren Senior Scholastic Award to Jonah Ligutom and Sean Dearinger, an award that goes to the male and female athlete with the highest grade point averages.

Rick Robbins, Republican candidate for Montgomery County Sheriff, awarded the Republican Senior Athlete of the Year awards to Andrea Priddle and Jacob Stockamp. Stockamp was one of four senior athletes, along with Kyra Bishop-Jacobs, Grant Shelton and Andrew DeLaCruz, who were unable to attend the banquet due to preparations for the CEO trade show the next day.

This year's Theodore Simmons Sr. Memorial Scholarship would go to Collin Davidson and Karsyn Kulick. Davidson is the great-grandson of the scholarship's namesake.

The Litchfield Sports Boosters would also hand out six scholarships. Austin Marburger and Sean Dearinger would earn the Sports Boosters Educational Scholarships, while Reece Kulick and Brakston Brummet earned the Litchfield Sports Boosters Scholarships. This year's Litchfield Sports Boosters Spirit Scholarships would go to Chase Lauderdale and Brittnay Komor.

After the awarding of the scholarships, the sports boosters recognized Denise Simpson with this year's Sports Boosters Fan Appreciation Award. Simpson, the woman behind the lens of DT Sports Photography, was recognized for her dedication to Litchfield athletics and for preserving those moments for the athletes and their families to enjoy.

Reents would end the ceremony by having the athletes thank their coaches and parents and by reminding them that successes in high school athletics don't make you a better parent or spouse or person, but they can play an important part in the growth of a young adult.