Sabol, Painter Earn All-State Honors By Illinois Coaches


Two Montgomery County athletes were among those recognized by the Illinois Basketball Coach Association for the organization's 2018-19 Class 1A and Class 2A boys basketball all-state teams.

Nokomis junior Carter Sabol was a second team pick by the IBCA coaches in Class 1A, while Litchfield senior Sam Painter was a third team selection in Class 2A.

Sabol, who was a fourth team pick on last year's IBCA team, which combined Class 1A and 2A, helped Nokomis to a 28-7 record and a regional title. The junior forward, who was also an Associated Press all-state honorable mention, averaged 17.6 points and 6.1 rebounds per game for the Redskins.

Painter helped Lithfield go 20-10 this season and surpassed the 1,000 point mark for his career. Painter, who recently signed to play basketball for Illinois Wesleyan University, led Montgomery County in scoring and rebounding with 19.2 points and 7.0 rebounds per game.

Painter has also been selected to play in the Illinois Basketball Coaches Association All-Star Games, which will take place on Saturday, June 8, at Pontiac High School. The event consists of four games, with all-stars from "south" schools in Class 1A and Class 2A playing all-stars from "north schools in Class 1A and Class 2A, plus Class 3A and Class 4A match-ups along the same format.

Painter will be playing in the 4 p.m. game for the Class 1A/2A South squad under the guidance of Wesclin Head Coach Brent Brede. Other players on the team include Tyler Winchester of Sesser Vallier, Shawn Bell of Triopia, Alex Biggs of Altamont, Phillip Coulter of Judah Christian, Will Aubel of Okawville, Karson Hueles of Waterloo Gibault, Bryce Bultman of Nashville, Clint Weber of Teutopolis, Dawson Smith of Teutopolis, Austin Rager of Mt. Carmel, Nate Brede of Wesclin, Malcom Miller of Shelbyville, Keith Kiner of Chester, Grant Karsten of Decatur Lutheran, Cade Beekman of Lewistown, C.J. Johnson of West Frankfort, Jazale O'Neal of Fairfield, Brian Estes of Fairfield and Audie Goebel of Gallatin County.

The game has featured several NBA players in the past, including Dwayne Wade of the Miami Heat, Andre Iguodala and Shaun Livingston of the Golden State Warriors, Fred Van Vleet of the Toronto Raptos and Evan Turner of the Portland Trailblazers. For more information about the game, go to


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment