Six Redskins Land All-Conference Honors


Six Nokomis High School athletes were among the 31 baseball and softball players honored with all-conference recognition this season by the coaches of the Prairie State Conference.

Four of those six would come from the Redskin baseball team, which tied Marquette for the Prairie State Conference Championship this year with a 5-1 conference mark.

Nokomis' Carter Sabol joined Mt. Olive's Carter Monke as the two selections at the pitcher position, while another NHS hurler (and third baseman), Drew Masset was picked at the utility spot.

Sabol was nearly untouchable on the mound with an ERA of 0.59 and 80 strikeouts in 42 innings. Masset was solid on the mound with a 1.63 ERA and 42 Ks in 29.1 innings, but was even better with the bat, batting .411 with 20 RBIs and 22 runs scored.

Nokomis' other first team pick came in the outfield, where Alex Tosetti joined Marquette's Sam Cogan and Bunker Hill's Braden Morris. Tosetti batted .316 with 27 runs scored and seven steals, both of which tied for the team high.

Marquette's Garret Weiner, East Alton-Wood River's Gabe Booten and Father McGivney's Matt Gierer earned all-conference honors in the infield, while Jacob Weidner rounded out the first team list, representing Bunker Hill at designated hitter.

Nokomis' Ryan Janssen would be one of six players to be named to the honorable mention list. Janssen led the team in hitting with a .425 average, with three home runs, seven doubles and four triples. 

Other honorable mentions were Nolan Gutjahr and Zach Keplar of Metro-East Lutheran, Cole Kiffmeyer of Bunker Hill, Max Schwab of Mt. Olive and Kaleb Ware of Marquette.

Prairie State Softball

On the softball side, Nokomis senior Maddie Sowarsh represented the Lady Redskins as one of two pitchers on the first team.

Sowarsh, who joined Marquette's Taylor Whitehead, had 150 strikeouts on the season and posted an ERA of 3.74, with seven of Nokomis' eight wins. 

The recent Nokomis grad could also do it with the bat as she led Nokomis with a .395 average, three home runs, two triples and five doubles. She also had 20 RBIs and 21 runs scored, both of which also led the Lady Redskins.

Nokomis sophomore Emma Blaum would join Sowarsh as she earned an honorable mention nod to this year's all-conference team. Blaum, who picked up Nokomis' other win on the mound, batted .306 for the season with 13 RBIs, 11 runs scored and five doubles.

Prairie State Conference

All-Conference Baseball

First Team

Pitchers: Carter Sabol (Nokomis); Carter Monke (Mt. Olive)

Catcher: Ethan Kopsie (Marquette)

Infielders: Gabe Booten (East Alton-Wood River); Garrett Weiner (Marquette); Jonah Wilson (Metro-East Lutheran); Matt Gierer (Father McGivney)

Outfielders: Sam Cogan (Marquette); Alex Tosetti (Nokomis); Braden Morris (Bunker Hill)

Designated Hitter: Jacob Weidner (Bunker Hill)

Utility: Drew Masset (Nokomis)

Honorable Mention: Ryan Janssen (Nokomis); Nolan Gutjahr (Metro-East Lutheran); Zach Keplar (Metro-East Lutheran); Cole Kiffmeyer (Bunker Hill); Kaleb Ware (Marquette); Max Schwab (Mt. Olive)

Prairie State Conference

All-Conference Softball

First Team

Pitchers: Maddie Sowarsh (Nokomis); Taylor Whitehead (Marquette)

Catcher: Jada Johnson (Marquette)

Infielders: Sami Kasting (Metro-East Lutheran); Hayley Porter (Marquette); K.B. Kirchner (Marquette); Madylin Fry (East Alton-Wood River)

Outfielders: Makensie Card (Marquette); Kayla Aligholi (East Alton-Wood River); Adrianna Ulrich (East Alton-Wood River)

Designated Hitter: Josie Manar (Bunker Hill)

Utility: Macy Flanigan (East Alton-Wood River)

Honorable Mention: Emma Blaum (Nokomis)


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment