Slightom, Krager, Glick Picked For All-Conference


Three members of the Lincolnwood High School softball team earned recognition by the MSM Conference coaches for the 2019 all-conference teams.

Senior Sadie Slightom was a first team pick for the Lady Lancers, while Cassie Krager and Sidney Glick were honorable mentions on the 23-player list.

Slightom led the team in hitting in 2019, batting .413 with 33 hits, 24 singles and 27 RBIs, all of which were team-bests. She was also second in doubles with eight and struck out just eight times during the season, another team-best average of once every ten at-bats.

Slightom was also Lincolnwood's ace, posting a 4.03 ERA with 47 strikeouts and 26 walks. She would finish the season 4-7 with 69.1 innings pitched and 93 runs allowed, only 40 of which were earned.

Krager, a sophomore, batted .266 on the season with 27 runs scored and 19 RBIs. She also walked 11 times and had eight stolen bases.

Glick, a freshman, batted .351 for Lincolnwood with 31 runs scored and ten runs driven in. She also led the team in doubles, with 11, and home runs, with two.

Joining Slightom on the first team were Shayla Mills, Taylor Page, Daleny Chumbley, Emma Farley and Ashlyn Morlock, all of Tri-City/Sangamon Valley, Carsen Jarrett of Pawnee, Bailey Wilkinson of Morrisonville and Rylie Burney of Edinburg.

On the second team were Pawnee's Makenna Byers, Melanie Rhoades and Abby Gray, Morrisonville's Kara Fesser, Mackenzie Harmon and Hallie Schneider, Calvary/Lutheran's Aryanna Harris and Emma Dart and Tri-City/Sangamon Valley's Kaitlynn Spain.

Joining Krager and Glick on the honorable mention list were Juli Orr of Edinburg, Anna Sagle of Tri-City/Sangamon Valley and Maddy Byers of Pawnee.

Lincolnwood would finish 4-4 in the conference, with two games cancelled against Morrisonville and Pawnee at the end of the season. Tri-City/Sangamon Valley would win the conference with a 9-0 mark, while Pawnee was second at 7-2. Edinburg/South Fork would finish with a 4-6 record, while Morrisonville was 3-5 and Calvary/Lutheran was 0-10.

2019 MSM All-Conference Softball Teams

First Team: Shayla Mills - Tri-City/Sangamon Valley; Taylor Page  - Tri-City/Sangamon Valley; Daleny Chumbley - Tri-City/Sangamon Valley; Emma Farley - Tri-City/Sangamon Valley; Carsen Jarrett - Pawnee; Ashlyn Morlock - Tri-City/Sangamon Valley; Bailey Wilkinson - Morrisonville; Rylie Burney - Edinburg/South Fork; Sadie Slightom - Lincolnwood.

Second Team: Makenna Byers - Pawnee; Aryanna Harris - Calvary/Lutheran; Emma Dart - Calvary/Lutheran; Kara Fesser - Morrisonville; Hallie Schneider - Morrisonville; Abby Gray - Pawnee; Mackenzie Harmon - Morrisonville; Kaitlynn Pain - Tri-City/Sangamon Valley; Melanie Rhoades - Pawnee.

Honorable Mention: Cassie Krager - Lincolnwood; Juli Orr - Edinburg; Anna Sagle - Tri-City/Sangamon Valley; Sidney Glick  - Tri-City/Sangamon Valley; Maddy Byers - Pawnee.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment