Three Retire From Hillsboro Fire Department


Together, they have logged 116 years of service to the community of Hillsboro, as members of the Hillsboro Volunteer Fire Department.

And on Friday evening, May 3, Terry Guthrie, Tim Lipe and Vernon Durbin were honored for that service, as they officially retire from their duties this spring.

Members of the Hillsboro Volunteer Fire Department held a special dinner at The Event Center in Hillsboro, catered by Milanos Catering.

To begin the ceremony, Hillsboro Mayor Brian Sullivan thanked the firefighters for their service. Sullivan presented the retirees with a plaque for their years of service to the department.

Terry Guthrie has logged 45 years of service, followed by Tim Lipe with 40 and Vernon Durbin with 31.

Danny Meyer of the Hillsboro Volunteer Fire Department presented each with a plaque from the Illinois State Fire Marshal, as well as a commemorative axe in honor of their service.

Meyer also presented a plaque to the department from the Illinois State Fire Marshal, marking 130 years of service to the community in 2018, and said they will hang it at the station.

Meyer gave special thanks to all the wives and partners of the firefighters, who stay home when the firefighters are on call.

"You put up with a lot, and we appreciate it," he said.

Firefighter Mike Whitten added his thanks to the city fathers, including former mayors and council members, for their help in securing top equipment for the department.

"For a small town, it's pretty impressive," Whitten said.

"We're very blessed," Meyer added.

Before concluding the ceremony, Meyer presented certificates to all members of the department for their years of service. Each will also receive a pin. They include Richard Hewitt with 55 years, Joe Lyerla with 43 years, Danny Meyer with 42 years, Kent Zimmerman with 39 years, Jerry Gregory with 35 years, Kenny Lohman, Bill Gonzalez and Lloyd Meyer with 34 years, Larry Keiser and Chaplain Ralph Ward with 29 years, Kenneth Moore with 26 years, Mike Whitten and David Beal with 25 years, Geoff Trost with 24 years, Robbie Shipman with 16 years, Chris Sherer with 15 years, Chris Papin with 13 years, Rusty Kirby and Justin Gonzalez with 12 years, Adam Jeffers with nine years, John Pocklington with eight years, James Lyerla with seven years, Cory Davidson, Quinn Lipe and Dane Bondurant with six years, Blake Lipe with four years, Nate Clinard, Austin Furness and Clay Murzynski with three years, Trevor Young and Nathan Wolf with two years and Adam Fath with one year. He also recognized dispatchers including Charlie Goad with 32 years, Tim Page and Chris Holman with four years, Dustin Carlock with two years and Jacob Longwell in his first year.

"That's a lot of years of experience," Meyer said. "We appreciate all you do for our community. It's been a good run."


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment