Tomorrow Is The Day For Voters To Make Their Marks


Voters in Montgomery County will fill seats on school boards, at city hall, in park and library districts, and regional school boards at the consolidated election on Tuesday, April 2.

Polls will be open at the 24 Montgomery County polling places–all handicapped accessible–from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. on election day.

Contested races exist in all four school districts headquartered in Montgomery County, as well as in four cities and one village.

State law allows for only three board members from any one congressional township to be seated on a school board at any one time, and that restriction comes into play in all four school district elections.

In the Hillsboro School District, voters will choose four board members from among six candidates: Barbara Adams, Craig Scroggins, Ed Ervin, Dan Tester, Matthew Lentz and Bryce Rupert. Two of the three candidates from Hillsboro Township (Adams, Scroggins and Ervin) may be elected.

In the Litchfield School District, Julie Abel and Sara Zumwalt are running for a two-year unexpired term.  Voters will choose from eight candidates to fill four full-term seats: Meg Wertin, Dennis Scobbie, Jim Odle, Sr., Mark Bloome, Michael Fleming, Jennifer Reid, David Belusko and Valerie Cain.  Only two of the North Litchfield Township candidates may be elected (Wertin, Scobbie, Odle, Bloome and Fleming), and only one of the South Litchfield Townships may be elected (Reid and David Belusko).  The name of former candidate Matt Belusko will appear on the ballot, but he has withdrawn from the race.

In the Panhandle School District, Shane Gilpin and Gabe Pope are running for a two year unexpired term.  Five candidates are running for four full-term seats: Linda Brown, Dana Pitchford, Darrin Daugherty, Teresa Payne and Brett Slightom.  Only three Raymond Township candidates may be elected (Pope, Brown, Pitchford and Daugherty.)

For Nokomis School Board, six candidates are running for three open seats: Joseph Gasparich, Julia Crowe, Carl Kettelkamp, Ben Tarter, Chad Ruppert and David Schweizer.  Only one of the two candidates from Nokomis Township (Gasparich and Crowe) can be elected.

In addition to the four school districts headquartered in the county, Montgomery County also has voters in the school districts of Auburn, Bond County, Highland, Morrisonville, Mt. Olive, North Mac, Pana, Pawnee, Ramsey, and Vandalia.

In the city of Coffeen, voters will choose between Sheila White and Junior White for mayor as well as elect four commissioners.  In Hillsboro, Brian Sullivan is unopposed for mayor, but voters will select four commissioners from a field of Daniel Robbins, Katie Duncan, Chris Sherer, Michael Murphy and Don Downs.

Nokomis has a race for mayor between Brian Kaegy and Russell Foster, and for four commissioner seats from a field of Michael Holliday, Ann Brookshire, Derek Durbin, Jonathan Nash, Kevin Laurie and Jake Leonard.

Farmersville residents will choose three village trustee from four candidates: Mark Krager, Lynn Clarke, Joe Poggenpohl and Phillip Fuchs.

Voters will fill city hall offices in uncontested races in Litchfield, Witt, Butler, Coalton, Donnellson, Fillmore, Harvel, Irving, Ohlman, Panama, Raymond, Schram City, Taylor Springs, Waggoner, Walshville and Wenonah.

Voters will also select park district commissioners in uncontested races in Litchfield, Nokomis, Pitman Township and Raymond.

The first seven trustees will be selected by voters in an uncontested race for the new Hillsboro Area Public Library District.  There are also uncontested library district races in the Doyle Public Library District, Farmersville-Waggoner, Grand Prairie of the West, Litchfield, Nokomis and Witt.

Uncontested races also exist in community college districts and regional board of school trustee districts.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment