Tourney Veteran Finishes On Top At Hillsboro Open


A veteran of the tournament held off last year's runner-up in the championship match to win the 30th annual Hillsboro Table Tennis Open on Saturday, May 4, at St. Paul's Lutheran Church in Hillsboro.

Mike Plunkett of Hillsboro won his 12th title in the tournament's 30-year history by defeating Ryan Driskill of Maryland Heights, MO, 3-0 in the best-of-five championship match.  

Driskill had finished second in last year's tournament to Carl Bradley of Indianapolis, IN.  Bradley finished third in this year's Class A round robin pool, while Tim Tonn of Bloomington, the 2016 tournament runner-up, finished fourth, and Bob Brown of Decatur was fifth in pool play.

The tournament is annually sponsored by The Journal-News and hosted by Hillsboro Table Tennis.

In Class B singles, Caleb Hall of Charleston defeated Robert Clark of Taylorville 3-2 in the best-of-five final.  Last year's Class B champion, Brad Woo of Mahomet, finished third in Class B pool play this year, while 1993 tournament champion and three-time Class B winner Mark Mathews of Hillsboro finished fourth and Roger Mansholt of Gillespie finished fifth.

John Wells of Decatur defeated Tim Sheehan of Decatur 3-2 to win the Class C championship.  Brett Walker of Teutopolis was third in Class C round robin pool play, while Russ Walker of Teutopolis was fourth and James McNamara of Springfield finished fifth.

In doubles, Tonn teamed up with Woo to win doubles 3-0 over Driskill and Wells.  The champions had advanced to the finals by defeating Bradley and Hall 3-0 in one semifinal, while the runners-up defeated Plunkett and Russ Walker 3-1 in the other.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment